Mohun Bagan crowned I-League champions

Share on Facebook0Tweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+0Share on Reddit0

claimed their first ever title on Sunday after managing a 1-1 draw against defending champions Bengaluru FC at Sree Kanteerava Stadium.

A dramatic late equaliser from the Nigerian defender Bello Rasaq broke the hearts of the assembled home fans after his header from close range cancelling out a John Johnson’s first half strike.

It was the fourth national title for The Mariners, who won the last in 2002 when the tournament was named the National Football League.

“The way we have been playing, I was pretty confident of us winning the I-League. It’s really a wonderful feeling winning the trophy after 13 years,” said Mohun Bagan goalkeeper Shilton Pal.

“It’s a result of our team work, combined with the effort that each and everyone of us put in. I’m glad that we are the team to take the national league back to Kolkata after so many years.”

Mohun Bagan’s triumph also sent the Kolkata-based club to their maiden campaign for the 2016 Asian Champions League qualifiers.