Stielike names South Korea squad for UAE and Myanmar clashes

Share on Facebook0Tweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+0Share on Reddit0

coach Uli Stielike has named his 23-man squad for the upcoming matches against and .

Taegeuk Warriors will meet UAE in a warm-up match in Seoul on June 11 before heading to Thailand to face Myanmar four days later in their opening joint qualifiers of and 2019 Asian Cup.

Myanmar have opted to hold their home fixture at Rajamangala National Stadium Bangkok in Thailand after they were forced to play in a neutral venue following Fifa’s suspension for crowd-control issues in 2011.

Stielike was unable to call Wigan Athtletic midfielder Kim Bo-kyung along with the German-based trio Park Joo-ho, Koo Ja-cheol and Ji Dong-won due to their four weeks of mandatory military service.

Those absences have allowed Jeonbuk Hyundai duo Lee Ju-yong and Choi Bo-Kyung the chance to perform in international stage as the German coach looks to give domestic-based players the opportunity to shine.

“For this squad I considered two things. Firstly, I have rewarded players who have been performing well in the league. Jeonbuk is the clear leader and I have called up four of their players,” Stielike told reporters.

“Secondly, the squad has been assembled to prepare the next generation ahead of the World Cup and we have only three players who are in their 30s.”

Swansea City playmaker Ki Sung-yueng will be a notable absentee for the 2015 Asian Cup runners-up, having been ruled out to recover his condition from a knee operation.

Squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Kim Seung-gyu (Ulsan), Kim Jin-hyeon (Cerezo Osaka), Jung Sung-ryong (Suwon).

Defenders: Lim Chae-Min (Seongnam), Kim Chang-soo (Kashiwa Reysol), Hong Jeong-ho (Augsburg), Kim Kee-hee (Jeonbuk), Kwak Tae-hwi (Al Hilal), Kim Jin-su (Hoffenheim), Jeong Dong-ho (Ulsan), Lee Ju-yong (Jeonbuk).

Midfielders: Lee Jae-sung (Jeonbuk), Lee Chung-yong (Crystal Palace), Jang Hyun-soo (Guangzhou R&F), Son Heung-min (Bayer Leverkusen), Han Kook-young (Qatar SC), Nam Tae-hee (Lekhwiya), Jung Woo-young (Vissel Kobe), Choi Bo-Kyung (Jeonbuk), Yeom Ki-Hun (Suwon).

Forwards: Kang Su-il (Jeju), Lee Yong-jae (V-Varen Nagasaki), Lee Jeong-hyeop (Sangju).