Persib Bandung beat Sriwijaya to win Indonesia’s President Cup

Share on Facebook0Tweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+0Share on Reddit0
Persib Bandung

successfully won the ’s President Cup this year after defeating 2-0 in the final game at Gelora Bung Karno Stadium, Jakarta on Sunday.

In front of 70,000 spectators, Maung Bandung took their lead in the sixth minute through a long-range free-kick from Ahmad Jufriyanto before doubling the score thanks to Dian Agus’ own goal in the final minute of first-half.

“Congratulation to all my players for their efforts in the final game, which successfully won the title for the people of Bandung city,” said Persib coach Djadjang Nurdjaman in a post-match conference.

“We are very proud to win the game over Sriwijaya at GBK Stadium, where many Bobotoh (Persib’s fas) came and gave us an unbelievable supports. That was amazing!”

Zulham Zamrun Persib Bandung

Persib star Zulham Zamrun has been named the best player of the President Cup and also awarded the golden boot after finishing the tournament as top scorer with six goals.

President Cup was initiated by the country’s President Joko Widodo following a halt in all domestic tournaments, including the Indonesia Super League, because of a crisis resulting from disputes between federation (PSSI) and the government which saw a suspension from FIFA in May.