Chennaiyin FC lifts Indian Super League title

Share on Facebook0Tweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+0Share on Reddit0

were on Sunday crowned the Indian Super League (ISL) season two champions after they beat 3-2 in a drama-filled summit clash in which three goals were scored in the last four minutes.

In a befitting finale of the ISL second season which saw 186 goals scored in 60 matches as compared to 121 last year, the Chennaiyin FC vs FC Goa clash at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium saw as many as five goals, all of them coming in the second half in the edge-of-the-seat match.

Bruno Pelissari put Chennaiyin ahead in the 54th minute but Goa equalised within four minutes with Thongkhosiem Haokip finding the target. Joffre Gonzalez then put Goa ahead for the first time in the 87th minute in what looked like the winning goal.

But, in a dramatic finish, Goa goalkeeper Laxmikant Kattimani conceded an own goal in the 90th minute to level the score before Chennaiyin striker Stiven Mendoza found the target in the first minute of the injury time to stun the home supporters of Goa.

The thrilling final, attended by the likes of Indian Test cricket team captain and Goa co-owner Virat Kohli and his actress girlfriend Anushka Sharma besides Chennaiyin owner Abhishek Bachchan and ISL chairperson Nita Ambani, brought a climactic end to the season of the lucrative league.

Read the original article here