Australia squad for AFC U-23 Championship announced

Share on Facebook0Tweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+0Share on Reddit0
PERTH, AUSTRALIA - SEPTEMBER 03: Chris Ikonomidis of Australia competes with Yeamin Munna of Bangladesh for the ball the ball during the 2018 FIFA World Cup Qualification match between the Australian Socceroos and Bangladesh at nib Stadium on September 3, 2015 in Perth, Australia.  (Photo by Will Russell/Getty Images)

Head Coach has named an exciting 23-man squad for the AFC U-23 Championship Doha 2016 in Qatar from 14-30 January, which is the final round of qualifying for the 2016 Olympic Games.

Socceroos Chris Ikonomidis, Josh Brillante, Adam Taggart and Terry Antonis headline a squad that also includes overseas-based starlets Daniel de Silva and Mustafa Amini as well as 12 players from the Hyundai A-League.

Defending Hyundai A-League Champions/Premiers Melbourne Victory has five players in the squad with the selection of Thomas Deng, Giancarlo Gallifuoco, Scott Galloway, Jason Geria and Connor Pain testament to the pathway created by Victory coach Kevin Muscat.

Brisbane Roar trio Brandon Borrello, James Donachie and Jamie Maclaren will be joined by Sydney FC pair Andrew Hoole and Alex Gerbasch while Paul Izzo (Central Coast Mariners) and Stefan Mauk (Melbourne City) will also fly the Hyundai A-League flag.

The Olyroos will head to Dubai for a seven day camp before the opening match in Group D against the United Arab Emirates (UAE) on 14 January at the Grand Hamad Stadium. The Olyroos also play Vietnam (17 January) and Jordan (20 January) with the top two teams progressing to the quarter finals.

The top three teams will qualify for the 2016 Rio de Janeiro Olympic Games Football Tournament.

Full squad:

Goalkeepers:  Paul Izzo, Aaron Lennox, Jack Duncan

Defenders: Jason Geria, Giancarlo Gallifuoco, Scott Galloway, Josh Brilliante, Cameron Burgess, James Donachie, Thomas Deng, Alex Gerbasch,

Midfielders:  Andrew Hoole, Daniel De Silva, Steven Ugarkovic, Mustafa Amini, Stefan Mauk, Terry Antonis, Chris Ikonomidis, Steven Ugarkovic, Ryan Edwards.

Strikers:  Brandon Borrello, Jamie Maclaren, Connor Pain, Adam Taggart.

Read the original article here