2016 Myanmar National League begins on January 9

Share on Facebook0Tweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+0Share on Reddit0
Yangon United

2016 will start on January 9 with two matches in round 1.

The first match of the season will see Rakhine United take on newly promoted team Southern Myanmar FC while the debutant Horizon FC will host Zeyar Shwe Myay.

Defending champions will begin 2016 season on January 10 when they face last year’s third-place finishers Magwe at home.

After a comfortable Charity Cup win over the weakened last week, the meet-up with a settled Magwe team – featuring national keeper Kyaw Zin Phyo and coached by SEA Games finalist Kyi Lin – will give Yangon fans a better picture of where their team stands under coach Emerson Alcantara.

In the other match, last year runners-up FC will face a tough test again Ayeyawady who won last year Aung San Shield trophy.

2016 Myanmar National League comprise 12 teams and will stretch until August. Each team are allowed to have 4 foreign players which include at least 1 player from Asian countries.

2016 Myanmar National League round 1 fixtures:

9/1: Rakhine United v Southern Myanmar
Horizon FC v Zeyar Shwe Myay
10/1: Shan United v Hantharwady United
Yangon United v Magwe
Yadanarbon FC v Ayeyawady United
Chin United v Zwekapin United