JDT wins Malaysia Super League title for third consecutive season

Share on Facebook0Tweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+0Share on Reddit0

Johor Darul Ta’zim made history by becoming the first club to win the Super League title three years in a row after beating Terengganu 3-0 in Johor Baru.

Jorge Pereyra Diaz and Safiq Rahim converted penalties in each half before Diaz added another to ensure Darul Ta’zim built an unassailable 10-point lead over Felda United, who have three matches to play.

No team in the country had ever won the league championship in three successive years since a league system was first introduced in 1979 and Darul Ta’zim have done so without losing any of their 20 league matches.

left-back Dhiyaulrahman Hasry tripped S. Kunanlan with no need to do so and Argentine Diaz coolly beat goalkeeper Sharbinee Allawee Ramli from the spot in the 29th minute for his 18th league goal.

Sharbinee then clumsily brought down Diaz with Safiq stepping up to make it 2-0 in the 83rd minute. Diaz sealed the deal three minutes later with a simple finish after getting between two defenders to poke the ball in.

Via: New Strait Times