Thai FA Cup winners to be decided on ballot drawings

Share on Facebook0Tweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+0Share on Reddit0

The Football Association of (FAT) has announced that the Thai FA Cup will be decided by drawing ballots out of 3 semi-finalists Ratchaburi, Chainat Hornbill, and Sukhothai. The other semifinalist, Chonburi, has withdrawn from the competition.

If their stadium meets the AFC standards, the winner will play in the AFC Champions League qualification stage next year. However, if all of the three semi-finalists failed to meet AFC standards, Bangkok Glass F.C. (third place in Thai Premier League this season) will be selected.

Previously, following the passing of King Bhumibol Adulyadej, FAT has canceled all remaining fixtures of the 2016 Thai Premier League, as well as the Thai FA Cup and Thai League Cup.

In the Thai Premier League, Muangthong United, who lead the league standings with 80 points from 31 matches and are five ahead of Bangkok United, will be the new champions, while in the Thai League Cup, finalists Muang Thong United and Buriram United were declared joint champions and will share the prize money.