Kedah win Malaysia Cup title for the fifth time

Share on Facebook0Tweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+0Share on Reddit0

Kedah had to go through the drama of a sudden death penalty shootout before being finally crowned champions for the fifth time.

And how sweet the 6-5 shootout win must have tasted for Kedah as they exacted revenge on Selangor at the Shah Alam Stadium after both teams were tied 1-1 in extra time.

In normal time, Mohd Rizal Ghazali put the Red Eagles ahead in the 52nd minute, but Selangor hit back eight minutes later through Ahmad Hazwan Bakri.

Both teams failed to find the target even in extra time and the game had to be decided on a shootout.

Even that was full of drama, before Rizal Ghazali netted the winner from the eighth kick.

For Selangor, Ugoh Ukah, Patrick Wleh, Mauro Olivi, S. Veenod and Andik Vermansyah scored from the spot but Hafiz Kamal, Azmi Muslim and Rizal Fahmi Rosid failed to convert.

Via: The Star